Services to be honoured with Sansad Ratna

S Vishnu Sharmaa, INN/Chennai, @svs037 
The day of 19 January this year will be a day to remember in the history of Chennai. That is the day when members of parliament would be presented Sansad Ratna awards in recognition of services.
According to sources, Tamilnadu Governor Banwarilal Purohit will present the awards to the parliamentarians on that day at a function being organised by Prime Point Foundation, an NGO in association with PreSense, an emagazine.
About 12 parliamentarians, including two former members of Rajya Sabha and a standing committee will be honoured with Sansad Ratna for their performance in the 16th Lok Sabha. 
K Srinivasan, chairman of Prime Point Foundation and founder of Sansad Ratna awards said the nominations for the awards have been made by a committee comprising eminent parliamentarians namely Anandrao Adsul, Hansraj Ahir, Union Minister of State, Home Affairs and Arjun Ram Meghwal, Union Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs. 
The selection is done based performance data provided by Lok Sabha Secretariat and PRS Legislative Research. The jury members were also receipients of Sansad Maharatna awards of 15th Lok Sabha. The awards were established in 2010
Awards was set up in 2010 upon the suggestion of former President of India APJ Abdul Kalam, who himself launched the first edition of the awards in May 2010, with the purpose of celebrating the performers of Indian Parliament.
Supriya Sule (Nationalist Congress Party, Baramati Constituency, Maharashtra), Shrirang Appa Barne (Shiv Sena, Maval, Maharashtra), Rajeev Shankarrao Satav (Indian National Congress, Hingoli, Maharashtra), 
Dhanjay Bhimrao Mahadik (Nationalist Congress Party, Kolhapur, Maharashtra) and Dr Heena Gavit (Bharatiya Janata Party, Nandurbar, Maharashtra) are nominated for their total tally of initiated debates, private members’ bills, and questions under different categories.
Bartruhari Mahtab (Biju Janata Dal, Cuttack, Odisha) and N K Premachandran (Revolutionary Socialist Party, Kollam, Kerala) are nominated for awards for their outstanding performance in the ‘Debates’ category. 
Nishikant Dubey (Bharatiya Janata Party, Godda, Jharkhand) is nominated under ‘Private Members Bills’ category. Anurag Thakur (Bharatiya Janata Party, Hamirpur, Himachal Pradesh) is nominated for his distinguished performance under ‘Jury Committee Special Award.’
Rajani Patil (Indian National Congress, Maharashtra) and Ananda Bhaskar Rapolu (Indian National Congress, Telangana) are nominated for their outstanding performance among the Rajya Sabha MPs retired in 2018.
Among the departmentally related standing committees, the Finance Committee is nominated for Sansad Ratna based on the reports presented, subjects selected and sittings held by them. M. Veerappa Moily (Indian National Congress) is the Chairman of the Finance Committee.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: