T-20 Cricket to get Bigger and Better

By Rahul L. @RAULASAP735;

Stage is set for the T-20 Global League (SA) with a selected list of Owners and Players

 To propagate T-20 format across the world and provide a fillip to the existing enthusiasm and energy of limited overs cricket, T-20 Global League South Africa is being conceived with an amalgamation of 400 players from 10 countries. With the player draft scheduled for 19 August 2017, eight T-20 team owners across the world and eight protea marquee players have been assigned to a team on the basis of the city they have historically been associated with or a city they will be able to build a strong association with. Alongside the Protea marquee players, eight International marquee players that were previously announced will help drive the global spirit of competition as the franchises battle for the top spot.

Announcing this recently at London’s Bvlgari hotel, cricket South Africa (CSA) officially announced the successful eight Team Owners who in a clear vote of confidence in South Africa’s new T-20 Global League have earned the right to be part of the cricketing history.  

“The announcement of the team owners is a key milestone to successfully launch our T-20 Global League,” commented CSA Chief Executive, Haroon Lorgat. “We are thrilled by the international mix of owners and the passion and excitement that was clearly demonstrated during the bidding process by them and the marquee players. It sets up our #T-20 GL as fans favourite in the cricketing calendar.” 

EY (previously known as Ernst & Young) conducted the team owner selection process to ensure integrity, compliance and due diligence by involving both CSA and potential owners.

“Competition was stiff, with more than 150 Expressions of Interest (EOI) received from around the world and a shortlist of heavy hitters to consider, but after rigorous discussions and engagement with each of the potential owners, we are certain that our final eight owners have the perfect combination of strategic insight and passion needed to make the first T-20 Global League a complete success,” said CSA President, Chris Nenzani.

The official eight team owners,host cities include Bollywood superstar Shah Rukh Khan (KKR) Cape Town, Fawad Rana (Lahore Qalandars) Durban, GMR Group (Delhi Daredevils) Johannesburg, Javed Afridi for (My Sports World/ Peshawar Zalmi) Benoni, Osman Osman (SA Consortium) Pretoria, Ajay Sethi (Channel 2) Port Elizabeth, MustaqBrey (Brimstone Investment Corporation) Stellenbosch and Sushil Kumar (City Sports) Bloemfontein. The eight marquee players completing the combination are JP Duminy, HashimAmla, KagisoRabada, Quintin de Kock, AB de Villiers, Imran Tahir, Faf du Plessis and David Miller.

Get abuzz on the T-20 Global League conversation by using the hashtag #T-20 GL. Follow all the updates via our social pages T-20 GL on Twitter, T-20 Global League Facebook, @t20globalleague on Instagram and T-20 Global League on YouTube.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: